AHE Phoenix Award

Each year, the AHE Advisory Board selects the Phoenix Award winner. The Phoenix Award, which began in 1987, is the highest praise bestowed upon an AHE member. The award recognizes a professional who has made an unselfish, lasting impact on the growth and progress of AHE, the membership and the advancement of the environmental services field.

2023 Phoenix Award Winner

Patti Costello
Executive Director
Association for the Healthcare Environment

AHE is proud to recognize the wonderful contributions of Patti Costello, the Executive Director of AHE, to the EVS field. Patti has made a lasting impact on the boundaries of EVS and continually strives to support EVS professionals in their mission to save lives and make healthcare facilities safe and comfortable. Patti has had an illustrious career in healthcare, and has successfully dedicated her time and passion to the AHA for 20 years. She brought her talents and energy to the AHE in 2001 and continues to help EVS professionals realize their potential to save lives and help patients.

*Selected by the AHE Advisory Board

Past Phoenix Award Winners:

2022: Pam Toppel, CHESP, CMIP, MT-CHEST, MT-CSCT
2021: Sandra L. Rials, M.S.
2020: No Recipient
2019: Gary Dolan, CHESP
2018: Jim Henry, CHESP
2017: Candace Thompson, CHESP
2016: Fiona Nemetz, CHESP
2015: Mike Bailey, CHESP
2014: Ali Kahn, CHESP    
2013: Bob Paine, CHESP    
2011: Tina Cermignano, CHESP    
2010: James Roussos, CHESP    
2009: Brett Higgins, CHESP    
2008: Thomas J. ‘Tony” Fitzgerald III, CHESP    
2007: Weston Thiss, CHESP    
2006: Robert Hodnik    
2005: Patricia Hockenberger    
2004: Diane Pennington, CHESP    
2003: Edward Barr, CHESP    
2002: Larry Collins, CHESP    
2001: Kenneth Barnett, CHESP    
2000: Thomas E. Alexandrowicz,    
1999: Martin Shafer    
1998: Pamela Blyth    
1997: James P. Connors, CHESP    
1996: John E. Fitzgerald, CHESP
1995: John Webb
1994: Sidney Pittman, CHESP
1993: Waymon Saxon
1992: Janice Kurth
1991: Aralee Scardina
1990: Bruno Giacomuzzi
1989: Stephen Burt
1988: V. James McLarney
1987: James Wolffbrandt


Related Resources

Press Releases
The Association for the Health Care Environment (AHE) announces the newly elected At Large Advisory Board Members for the 2024-2026 term and the 2023…
Press Releases
The Association for the Health Care Environment (AHE), of the American Hospital Association, together with Tork®, an Essity brand, announce the…
Press Releases
The Association for the Health Care Environment (AHE), of the American Hospital Association (AHA), has announced the recipient of the 2023 Phoenix…
Skill.Set.Go. is a skills-driven training subscription designed to take your team’s performance to the next level and meet your organizational goals.
Other Resources
Resources presented by Clorox to help create a cleaner, healthier space for all