Awards and Recognition Program


AHE Member Only Award: (no application fee)

Phoenix Award
Sponsored by West Sanitation Services (AeroWest)

  • Who is Eligible: An AHE Member of 5 years 

AHE Environmental Services Professionals Awards: (no application fee)

J. Owen Flynn Memorial Award 
Sponsored by Wexford Labs, Inc

  • Who is Eligible: Directors, Managers, and Front Line staff

James Wolfbrandt Mentor Award 
Sponsored by the Greater Philadelphia AHE Chapter

  • Who is Eligible: Directors, Managers, and Front Line staff

Excellence in Safety and Quality Improvement in Environmental Services 
Sponsored by Clorox Healthcare

  • Who is Eligible: The team can include any department of staff of the organization but must include the director of manager of environmental services

Environmental Stewardship Award 
Sponsored by the Family of Thomas Fitzgerald, III, CHESP

  • Who is Eligible: Directors, Mangers, and Front Line

Heart of Healthcare Award 
Sponsored by AHE and Kimberly-Clark Professional

  • Who is Eligible: Front Line staff 

Industry Leader Award ($150 application fee)

AHE Innovation Award

  • Who is eligible: All public and AHA member hospitals, AHE affiliated local chapters, AHE professional active members, AHE associate members, or any individuals or businesses that seeks to improve outcomes in the healthcare environment 

About the Heart of Healthcare Award

Introduced at the 2011 Association for the Healthcare Environment Annual Conference, AHE and Kimberly-Clark Professional have collaborated to sponsor a new awards program called the Heart of Healthcare Award. This award is in recognition of the important role frontline Environmental Services professionals play in supporting safety initiatives and furthering the goals of their institutions in reducing healthcare-associated infection (HAI) rates among patients or residents.

Speak up for someone you think is doing an outstanding job in Environmental Services by nominating him or her today. (AHE membership not required) 

About the Environmental Services Department of the Year Award

Sponsored by Health Facilities Management (HFM) and the Association for the Healthcare Environment (AHE).   If you’re looking for a chance to shine the spotlight on your environmental services department or housekeeping team for their dedication and excellent work, a golden opportunity to honor them presents itself once again. 

About the AHE Innovation Award

Introduced by the AHE Industry Advisory Task Force at EXCHANGE 2013, this award is to recognize and increase awareness of improved products, processes, and technology Advancements that empower individuals to improve measured outcomes in the healthcare environment.

About AHE Awards

We encourage you to nominate your peers, but don't hesitate to nominate yourselves as well. This is a great opportunity for you to demonstrate to the membership the stellar work you have been doing in your hospitals and in your communities. The nomination and selections process for all awards will remain consistent with what we did last year.

General Information:

  • For Member Only Awards: Nominees must be AHE members in good standing to qualify.
  • Candidates may be nominated by an AHE member or non-member or may nominate themselves.
  • The Current Recognition Committee will select award winners based on submitted nominations.  The committee may request additional information if needed.
  • All submissions become the property of AHE.


  • Please select the award for submission and click on the corresponding link. 
  • Review the criteria for each award and submit the application for the award that best fits your own personal experience or for a person you feel best deserves that award.
  • Award Applications must be submitted by the deadline specified. This deadline will be provided once nominations are open to AHE members.
  • Send all supporting materials via the links provided above for the corresponding award.

  The Phoenix Award

AHE's the highest honor bestowed upon an AHE member. The Phoenix Award recognizes the member who has made an unselfish, lasting impact through above/beyond, outstanding contributions to the growth and professionalism of AHE, its members and to the profession.

Honor and Recognize the Best in the Profession Awards

AHE encourages all members and non-members to participate in nominating themselves as well as other AHE members that they feel best deserve the profession's most prestigious awards.

 Environmental Services Department of the Year Award

Health Facilities Management (HFM) magazine and the Association for the Healthcare Environment (AHE) invite you to enter the Environmental Services (ES) Department of the Year competition, sponsored by CINTAS.
 The Heart of Healthcare Award

AHE and Kimberly-Clark Professional invite you to
nominate deserving
Environmental Services Front Line Staff.