*Hand-selected by the AHE Board

sponsored by

Started in 1987, the Phoenix Award is the highest honor bestowed upon an AHE member. The Phoenix Award recognizes a professional who has made an unselfish, lasting impact as well as outstanding contributions to the growth and professionalism of AHE, the membership, and to the professionalism AHE and environmental services. Phoenix Award winners are selected by the AHE Board.


Previous Winners

2018   Jim Henry, CHESP, MT-CHEST
2017   Candace Thompson, CHESP
2016    Fiona Nemetz, CHESP
2015    Mike Bailey, CHESP
2014    Ali Kahn, CHESP      
2013    Bob Paine, CHESP    
2011    Tina Cermignano, CHESP     
2010    James Roussos, CHESP         
2009    Brett Higgins, CHESP           
2008    Thomas J. ‘Tony” Fitzgerald III, CHESP     
2007    Weston Thiss, CHESP           
2006    Robert Hodnik           
2005    Patricia Hockenberger
2004    Diane Pennington, CHESP    
2003    Edward Barr, CHESP
2002    Larry Collins, CHESP
2001    Kenneth Barnett, CHESP      
2000    Thomas E. Alexandrowicz,    
1999    Martin Shafer 
1998    Pamela Blyth  
1997    James P. Connors, CHESP    
1996    John E. Fitzgerald, CHESP
1995    John Webb
1994    Sidney Pittman, CHESP
1993    Waymon Saxon
1992    Janice Kurth
1991    Aralee Scardina
1990    Bruno Giacomuzzi
1989    Stephen Burt
1988    V. James McLarney
1987    James Wolffbrandt